The Problem with Fandoms (a/k/a The Objectification of Sam Heughan)

Agree 100%. Everyone needs to remember the difference between fact and fantasy, between actors and their characters. Sam and Cait are real people who have been thrust into the spotlight and have been nothing but wonderful to their fans, Diana’s fans, Outlander book series fans, and Outlander Starz fans. Considering how generous they are with their fans via social media, we all have to realize there’s a good chance any of them can end up reading what we write and, thus, we should always be respectful. And even if they don’t see it, we should still be respectful and treat them fairly.

The Word Peddler

Fandoms rock. You know what rocks even more? Respectful fandoms. Fandoms that don’t have a sense of entitlement. Fandoms that don’t objectify. Fandoms that aren’t snide and snarky.

I am a proud fan-girl. I binge watch The Walking Dead. I eagerly try to convert others into Sherlockians. Somewhere there is a belt with a notch for every friend I have turned into a Whovian. I will talk Outlander all day long (and often do talk about it all day–to anyone who will listen, and many who don’t). So, when I find others who are equally obsessive, it’s like finding a kindred soul…except when it isn’t.

There is a dark underbelly to the fandoms. One which I didn’t really see until it stared back at me from my Facebook feed. Eager Outlander that I am, I recently joined several groups on Facebook: Other people who have read the books and loved…

View original post 829 more words

